2010 Pocahontas County Primary Results

Marlinton, WV – As they have in the past, the first precincts to report in on election night set the tone for the most of the local election returns in Pocahontas. In fact the only race whose final outcome wasn’t predicted by the first three precincts was the Republican nomination for County Clerk.

The top three vote getters in the Board of Education race are central district candidate Leslie Cain with , southern district candidate Jan McNeel, and Northern district candidate Emery Grimes. Grimes was at the courthouse Tuesday night as the final numbers were released.

Cain is a returning board member. She, McNeel and Grimes will be sworn in as board of education members in July.

The Democratic nomination for County Commission turned into a close race between Gibbs Kinderman, JL Clifton and Robin Mutscheller. Clifton had the lead after the first three precincts were tallied, but Mutscheller moved ahead by two votes after 6 of the 15 precincts were counted. Clifton regained the lead after 9 precincts and held on to win the nomination narrowly defeating Kinderman and Mutscheller who tied for second. Clifton, who won by only 35 votes, was nonetheless happy and a little dazed by the outcome.

Jamie Walker won the Republican nomination for County Commissioner, defeating Randy A Sharp by 79 votes.

In the Circuit Clerk race, Connie Carr won the Democratic nomination. Republican Paul Barb ran unopposed.

In the County Clerk race, Missy Bennett won the Democratic nomination by a wide margin, while Mark Jonese bested Reta Griffith for the Republican nomination by just 59 votes. Via email, Griffith says she thanks all those who voted for her and have supported her through her years of service on the Commission.

For the US House of Representatives 3rd District race, Nick Rahall won the Democratic Nomination, and Elliot “Spike” Maynard won the Republican nomination.

In the race for the WV Senate 15th district, Walt Helmick defeated opponent Tom Ditty for the Democratic nomination. Republican Greg Brown got the nod over opponent W. Page Noe.

William Hartman and Denise Campbell were the top Democratic vote getters for the state House of Delegates, 37th district seat. They will face Republican nominee Joan Hinzman Sharp, who ran unopposed.

Please note these are unofficial tallies until the votes are canvassed on Friday May 14th beginning at 8:30am. The breakdown of the voting by precinct will be available after the canvas is completed. The final vote tallies for Pocahontas County are listed below. **indicates the winner

Circuit Clerk – Democrat
Jamie Friel Hill 323
** Connie Carr 665
Jeff Hefner 65
Carrie Wilfong 438

Circuit Clerk – Republican
** Paul Barb 368

County Clerk – Democrat
** Missy Bennett 781
CJ Totten 124
Brenda Cochran 335
Deborah Miller 212

County Clerk – Republican
Reta Griffith 257
**Mark Jonese 316

County Commission – Democrat
Gibbs Kinderman 389
Natasha McMann 111
Amon Tracey 178
** JL Clifton 424
Robin Mutscheller 389

County Commission – Republican
Randy A Sharp 216
** Jamie Walker 295

Board of Education
** Emery Grimes 759
** Jan McNeel 789
Jane W Jackson 230
Norman Alderman 392
David Irvine, Jr 246
Cara Rose 740
**Leslie Cain 846
Lynn D Jordan 163
Joyce F McLaughlin 174
Thomas VanReenan 677
Julie Dillon 358

US House of Representatives – 3rd District – Democrat
Bruce Barilla 402
** Nick Rahall 1027

US House of Representatives – 3rd District – Republican
Conrad G Lucas 111
Lee A Bias 58
** Elliot E Maynard 231
Marty Gearheart 124

State Senate – 15th District – Democrat
** Walt Helmick 1063
Tom Ditty 409

State Senate – 15th District – Republican
W Page Noe 63
** Greg Brown 382

House of Delegates – 37th District – Democrat
Earl W Maxwell 223
Kent KP Price 145
Paul PJ Louk 243
**Bill Hartman 877
**Denise Campbell 556
Robbie Morris 270

House of Delegates – 37th District – Democrat
** Joan Hinzman Sharp 468

Story By

Heather Niday

Heather is our Program Director and Traffic Manager. She started with Allegheny Mountain Radio as a volunteer deejay. She then joined the AMR staff in February of 2007. Heather grew up in the Richmond, Virginia, area and now lives in Arbovale, West Virginia with her husband Chuck. Heather is a wonderful flute player, and choir director for Arbovale UMC. You can hear Heather along with Chuck on Tuesday nights from 6 to 8pm as they host two hours of jazz on Something Different.

Current Weather