2015 Bath and Highland Election Results

The need to purchase new voting machines in Highland County was a troublesome point to supervisors and taxpayers, but they proved to be a boon in tallying and receiving results in Wednesday evening’s general election. All precincts had reported in within an hour after the polls closed at 7:00, turning what was historically late evenings into a brief one for the crowd awaiting results.

In the supervisors race, incumbents David Blanchard and Kevin Wagner retained their seats. They will be joined by newly elected Harry Sponaugle, who replaces Lee Blagg, who had not sought another term.

In the closest race of the evening, challenger Judy Waggoner Hupman defeated incumbent Lois Ralston Showalter by a margin of 34 votes to take the office of Clerk of the Circuit Court.

In the only other contested constitutional officer race, challenger David Neil defeated incumbent Tim Duff in the race for Sheriff. Re-elected running unopposed for their offices were Commissioner of the Revenue Darlene Crummett, Commonwealth’s Attorney Melissa Dowd, and Treasurer Lois White.

Incumbent School Board members Joe Neil and John Moyers Jr. will be joined by Newly elected Chris Amirault, who replaces Bobby Hefner, who had not sought re-election. Dean Beverage and James Sponaugle were elected as Soil and Water Conservation Mountain District directors.

In state legislature election, results in Highland mirrored the wider results, as incumbent Dickie Bell defeated William Hammer for election to the 20th District to the House of Delegates. Senator Creigh Deeds ran unopposed to return to his office representing the 25th district.

Turning to Bath County results, in the contested supervisor races , Matthew Ratcliffe defeated Bart Purdue in the Warm Springs District, and Stuart Hall retained his seat in the Willamsville District, defeating Lisa Hamilton and Rocklynn Phillips. They are joined by Claire Collins from the Cedar Creek District, Eddy Hicklin from the Millboro District and Richard Byrd from the Valley Springs District, who all ran unopposed.

There were two constitutional office races contested in Bath. Annette Loan defeated Donna Weaver for election to Clerk of the Circuit Court, and Angel Grimm won over Crystal Salvatore for Commissioner of the Revenue.

Returning to their offices unopposed were Sheriff Robert Plecker, Treasurer Pamela Webb and Commonwealth’s Attorney John C. Singleton. School board candidates for each district also ran unopposed – Eddie Ryder, Brian Secoy, Catherine Lowry, Roy Burns and Rhonda Grimm. Ryan Hodges and Floyd McCoy Jr. were elected as Soil and Water Conservation Mountain District directors.

As with Highland, Bath state legislature results mirrored the final outcome. Incumbent Ben Cline returned to his seat in the House of Delegates, representing the 25th District, with a win over Ellen Arthur.

For a full list of results, including vote tallies, see this story on alleghenymountainradio.org. All results are unofficial until certified by the Board of Elections.


Highland Election Results


Bath Election Results

Story By

Scott Smith

Scott Smith is the General Manager for Allegheny Mountain Radio and Station Coordinator and News Reporter for WVLS. Scott’s family has deep roots in Highland County. While he did not grow up here, he spent as much time as possible on the family farm, and eventually moved to Highland to continue the tradition, which he still pursues with his cousin. Unfortunately, farming doesn’t pay all the bills, so he has previously taken other jobs to support his farming hobby, including pressman/writer for The Recorder, and Ag Projects Coordinator for The Highland Center. He lives in Hightown with wife Michelle and son Ethan. In his spare time, he wishes he had more spare time, especially to ride his prized Harley-Davidson motorcycle. scott@amrmail.org

Current Weather