FEMA grants Tomblin aid request for more counties

Charleston, W.Va. –

West Virginia Governor Earl Ray Tomblin announced on Monday that 16 additional counties, including Pocahontas County, will receive FEMA Individual Assistance as part of the federal disaster declaration granted in July.

In a press release, the governor is quoted: “I’m happy West Virginians will soon be getting the help they need to recover from the destructive summer storm. I’m grateful FEMA amended the declaration– these federal funds will provide much needed help to West Virginians families and businesses in 16 additional counties. This assistance will go a long way in helping folks in these areas get back on their feet.” Unquote.

Individuals in Pocahontas County are now eligible for individual assistance from FEMA. Available resources include temporary housing and home repairs, covering uninsured property losses, disaster unemployment assistance, crisis counseling, disaster legal services and emergency low-interest loans for individuals and businesses.

Last month, FEMA granted individual assistance in Fayette, Kanawha, Nicholas, and Raleigh counties after the governor made an appeal. Today’s announcement brings the total number of counties receiving individual assistance to 20. To request assistance, Pocahontas County residents should register with FEMA by calling 1-800-621-FEMA or visiting www.FEMA.gov on the internet. The deadline to apply for assistance is November 19, 2012.

Story By

Heather Niday

Heather is our Program Director and Traffic Manager. She started with Allegheny Mountain Radio as a volunteer deejay. She then joined the AMR staff in February of 2007. Heather grew up in the Richmond, Virginia, area and now lives in Arbovale, West Virginia with her husband Chuck. Heather is a wonderful flute player, and choir director for Arbovale UMC. You can hear Heather along with Chuck on Tuesday nights from 6 to 8pm as they host two hours of jazz on Something Different.

Current Weather