General Elections Voters Guide

10-31-19 General Elections Voters Guide

The next general election is in just a few days on November 5th. Here are some things you need to know if you’re 18 and have never voted, or just need a refresher. 

Polling hours throughout the Commonwealth are from 6:00 a.m. until  7:00 p.m. As long as a voter is in line by 7:00 p.m., the voter will be able to vote and you don’t have to register by political party. Any person convicted of a felony loses their right to vote in Virginia and that right can only be restored by the Governor of Virginia.

If you’re not sure where you need to go vote on election day, you can enter your address into to find that out. 

You also don’t need proof of your voter registration. All you need to bring with you is a photo ID which includes a 

Virginia driver’s license

Virginia DMV-issued photo ID

United States passport

Employer-issued photo ID

Student photo ID issued by a school, college, or university located in Virginia (public or private)

Other U.S. or Virginia government-issued photo ID (including veteran’s photo ID)

Tribal enrollment or other tribal photo ID issued by one of the 11 tribes recognized by the Commonwealth of Virginia, or a 

Virginia voter photo ID card

If you need a refresher on who the candidates are and what they’re running for,

For member Senate of VA, Creigh Deeds is running unopposed. 

For member House of Delegates are Ronnie Campbell, Christian Worth, and Billy Fishpaw.

Running unopposed are Christopher Singleton for Bath County’s Commonwealth’s Attorney, Robert Plecker for sheriff, Angel Grimm for Commissioner of Revenue, and Pamela Webb for treasurer.

Running unopposed for the Board of Supervisors are Ronald Shifflett of the Cedar Creek District, Edward Hicklin of Millboro, and Roy Burns of Warm Springs.

Running contested are Richard Byrd and Harold Fry of the Valley Springs District, and Thomas Burns and Charles Black of Williamsville.

Running unopposed for School Board is Zachery Burns of the Warm Springs District.

Running contested for the School Board are Karen Hise and Eddie Ryder of the Cedar Creek district, Jeffrey Grimm and Jessica Forbes of Millboro, Austin Burns and James Hooker for Valley Springs, and Lee Bowling-Angle and Clara Tennant of Williamsville.

For the Soil and Water Conservation Director Mountain District, Floyd McCoy is running unopposed.

Get out and vote! I will be at the courthouse while the polls are coming in and letting AMR know who has won the same night as election day on the 5th, so stay tuned! 

For AMR News, I’m Abby Dufour 


Story By

Abby Dufour

Current Weather