State Awards Funding For Hillsboro Elementary School Upgrades

Marlinton, WV – Four years ago, the Pocahontas County Board of Education requested funding for major renovations to Hillsboro Elementary/Middle School. During the board meeting Monday night, Superintendant C.C. Lester informed the board that the long wait for funding is over – the West Virginia School Building Authority approved the $1.3 million request. Lester says the project is necessary to keep students indoors and replace an aging cafeteria.

“You know, it’s a safety problem down in Hillsboro,” he said. “The kids have class. They walk down to the cafeteria for breakfast. They come back and they walk down to the cafeteria for lunch. They leave the building. They go out for PE outside. So, you have inclement weather. You have the way the world is today. So, for four years now, they proposed to get SBA funding to connect the building. I believe the cafeteria was made in the 50’s; it’s falling apart.”

The superintendant says a new building will serve two purposes: unify the school and provide a new cafeteria.

“The plan is to build a connection between the main building and the gymnasium, and make that the cafeteria,” he said. “And so, it went through today – 1.3 million.”

The board presented award certificates to winners of the Golden Horseshoe award, the West Virginia Young Writers contest and the regional Social Studies Fair.

The Golden Horseshoe winners for 2012 are Tommy Greulick and Caitlin Barnes. The Golden Horseshoe award has been given to eighth graders since 1931, and is the longest running program of its kind in the United States. Students are awarded based on their knowledge of West Virginia citizenship, civics and government, economics, geography, history and current events. Greulick and Barnes will be inducted as a Knight and a Lady of the Golden Horseshoe Society.

The 2012 Young Writers Contest winners are Amber Sisler,Lorena Rose, Laura Leyzorek, Lauren Garretson, Max O’Ganian and Kearstin Bogart. The contest is supported by Marshall University Graduate College of Education and Professional Development, the University of Charleston, and the Charleston Daily Mail. The contest showcases and honors student writers in grades one through 12. The winners are invited to attend a conference at the University of Charleston on May 11, where they will present their works, hear distinguished speakers, and be honored at a Grand Entrance and Ceremony.

First place Social Studies Fair winners are Mathias Solliday; Lara Baudler; Makalan Holder and Makayla Marks; Samantha Collins and Marilyn Creager; Nathan Morrison; Brady Jones and Drake Warder; Kindra Carr; Joey Friel and Andrew Morrison; a four-person team of Amanda Gibson, Jessalyn Hamilton, Rachel McComb and Lorena Rose; Patrick Martin and Gavin Moore; Kala Honaker and, Heather Pritt & Alex Kinnison.

Winners are eligible to attend the state competition at the Charleston Civic Center on April 26.

Story By

Heather Niday

Heather is our Program Director and Traffic Manager. She started with Allegheny Mountain Radio as a volunteer deejay. She then joined the AMR staff in February of 2007. Heather grew up in the Richmond, Virginia, area and now lives in Arbovale, West Virginia with her husband Chuck. Heather is a wonderful flute player, and choir director for Arbovale UMC. You can hear Heather along with Chuck on Tuesday nights from 6 to 8pm as they host two hours of jazz on Something Different.

Current Weather